Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

New Music Chicago Presents: “From Slavery to Justice: the Ongoing Journey”

Tuesday, November 15, 2022 at 7:30 pm

Free & Open to the Public

New Music Chicago presents “From Slavery to Justice: the Ongoing Journey.” The program uses music to tell stories of African-American liberation. To celebrate Juneteenth, a historic date that commemorates the emancipation of enslaved people, Crossing Borders Music commissioned new music of The Honourable Elizabeth A. Baker, Jordyn Davis, and Jessica T. Carter. Be one of the first people to hear their amazing works! The program will also include the 2021 revised version of String Quartet No. 1 by AJ Isaacson-Zvidzwa. The program will be the subject of a short documentary by Chicago filmmaker Rubye Lane, and is the brainchild of Crossing Borders Music board member and Strategic Planning Committee Chair Marjorie Adam Clark, who is also co-chair of the Forest Park Juneteenth Committee and Illinois Juneteenth Committee. Juneteenth, Marjorie says, is “a holiday of racial healing.”

Watch free online at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GtrW2x7668

The program is supported in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts. This program is made possible in part by the Paul M Angell Family Foundation and The MacArthur Funds for Culture, Equity, and the Arts at the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation. Crossing Borders Music acknowledges support from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.
Image Description: Composer Jordyn Davis in a grey sweater and long white skirt seated in front of a piano, a black and white image of The Honourable Elizabeth A. Baker with her hand on an analog synthesizer by MOOG, and Jessica T. Carter posing with a hand on her hip in a green gown and pearl necklace in what appears to be a cathedral


Tuesday, November 15, 2022
7:30 pm
Free & Open to the Public