Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Reflections of the Arab World

Sunday, October 3, 2021 at 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Free & Open to the Public
Issa Boulos

First Presbyterian Church of Arlington Heights presents Crossing Borders Music in music for string quartet and oud from the Arab World! The program features the special guest artist Palestinian/American ‘ūd player, composer, arranger, ethnomusicologist, and teacher Issa Boulos performing his own brand new arrangements for string quartet and ‘ūd! The program also marks the world premiere of a string quartet commissioned by Crossing Borders Music of Jordanian composer Tarek Younis! And, Rasa Mahmoudian’s world premiere string quartet arrangement of the “International Refugees Anthem” by Syrian composer Arian Hu of Beijing, China! Works by Egyptian composer Gamal Abdel Rahim, American composer Mohammed Fairouz, Syrian-French composer Dia Succari, and the little-known String Quartet op. 7 by the exceptional Lebanese composer Toufic Succar, performed off the score provided to Crossing Borders Music by his wife Nenna Bakhtanassar (épouse Succar). This is not a program to miss!
We’d like to honor the diversity of opinions regarding the term “Arab World,” or “Levant.” In particular, we honor Toufic Succar’s request to be known specifically as a “Lebanese composer.”
Free and open to the public! Join us!
This program is presented by the First Presbyterian Church of Arlington Heights with support from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.
Pictured: Issa Boulos in a white shirt before a black background, holding his ‘ūd in one hand and gesturing with his other raised hand to recognize the audience outside the picture’s frame, credit Issa Boulos


Sunday, October 3, 2021
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Free & Open to the Public


First Presbyterian Church of Arlington Heights
302 N Dunton Ave
Arlington Heights, IL 60004
+ Google Map