Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Music Livestream: Celebrating Juneteenth!

Monday, June 19, 2023 at 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Free & Open to the Public

This livestream includes premiere videos of new music by The Honourable Elizabeth A. Baker, Jordyn Davis, and Jessica T. Carter, commissioned by Crossing Borders Music! The program also marks the online premiere of the 2021 revised version of String Quartet No. 1 by AJ Isaacson-Zvidzwa. The livestream includes also the online premiere of a beautiful short documentary by Chicago filmmaker Rubye Lane about the project!
“Celebrating Juneteenth!” uses music to to tell stories of the ongoing journey from slavery to justice. It is the brainchild of Crossing Borders Music board member and Strategic Planning Committee Chair Marjorie Adam Clark, who is also co-chair of the Forest Park Juneteenth Committee and Illinois Juneteenth Committee. Juneteenth, Marjorie says, is “a holiday of racial healing.”
This event will be broadcast live on the Crossing Borders Music Facebook and YouTube channels.
Featuring Phyllis Calderon, Rasa Mahmoudian, and Jennifer Leckie, violins; Sixto Franco, viola; and Kailie Holiday and Tom Clowes, cello; Aidan Kranz, cinematrography; Ryan Mac Donald, sound; with special thanks to Mi Ran Choi for their technical support.
“Celebrating Juneteenth!” is supported in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.
This program is made possible in part by the Paul M Angell Family Foundation and City of Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events.
Crossing Borders Music acknowledges support from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.
Image Description: Composer Jordyn Davis in a grey sweater and long white skirt seated in front of a piano, a black and white image of The Honourable Elizabeth A. Baker with her hand on an analog synthesizer by MOOG, and Jessica T. Carter posing with a hand on her hip in a green gown and pearl necklace in what appears to be a cathedral


Monday, June 19, 2023
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Free & Open to the Public


Crossing Borders Music Facebook and YouTube livestream