Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Reflections of the Arab World Livestream

Tuesday, October 19, 2021 at 7:30 pm - 8:10 pm

Free & Open to the Public
Tarek Younis

New Music Chicago presents Crossing Borders Music in music for string quartet from the Arab World! The program marks the online premiere of a string quartet commissioned by Crossing Borders Music of Jordanian composer Tarek Younis! And, the online world premiere of Rasa Mahmoudian’s string quartet arrangement of the “International Refugees Anthem” by Syrian composer Arian Hu of Beijing, China! The program also includes works by American composer Mohammed Fairouz, Syrian-French composer Dia Succari, and the little-known String Quartet op. 7 by the exceptional Lebanese composer Toufic Succar, performed off the score provided to Crossing Borders Music by his wife Nenna Bakhtanassar (épouse Succar). This is not a program to miss!
We’d like to honor the diversity of opinions regarding the term “Arab World,” or “Levant.” In particular, we honor Toufic Succar’s request to be known specifically as a “Lebanese composer.”
Watch the livestream at: https://youtu.be/5EekVZww75Y

This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency. This program is partially supported by a CityArts grant from the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events.
Pictured: a black and white photo of Composer Tarek Younis composing indoors with a pen and paper seated at a table in front of a wall with three bright windows


Tuesday, October 19, 2021
7:30 pm - 8:10 pm
Free & Open to the Public


YouTube livestream