Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

“Reflections of the Arab World” livestream

Sunday, November 21, 2021 at 2:00 pm - 3:15 pm

Free & Open to the Public

Watch a livestream of music for string quartet and ‘ūd from the Arab World with special guest, composer Tarek Younis! Crossing Borders Music musicians Rasa Mahmoudian and Tom Clowes will co-host the program which includes Tarek’s brand new “Journey 1” for string quartet, commissioned by Crossing Borders Music! The program also features the online premiere of Issa Boulos’s own brand new arrangements for string quartet and ‘ūd, featuring Issa himself. And, Rasa Mahmoudian’s brand new string quartet arrangement of the “International Refugees Anthem” by Syrian composer Arian Hu of Beijing, China! Works by American composer Mohammed Fairouz, Syrian-French composer Dia Succari, and the seldom-heard String Quartet op. 7 by the exceptional Lebanese composer Toufic Succar, performed off the score provided to Crossing Borders Music by his wife Nenna Bakhtanassar (épouse Succar). This is not a program to miss!
We’d like to honor the diversity of opinions regarding the term “Arab World,” or “Levant.” In particular, we honor Toufic Succar’s request to be known as a “Lebanese composer.”
Watch online on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/495686567132614/posts/4814422215259006/
or on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfnqzw2tQCU

Special thanks to Thavary Krouch for her technical support.
This program is made possible in part by the Paul M Angell Family Foundation and City of Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events. Crossing Borders Music acknowledges support from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

Pictured: Issa Boulos in a white shirt before a black background, holding his ‘ūd in one hand and gesturing with his other raised hand to recognize the audience outside the picture’s frame


Sunday, November 21, 2021
2:00 pm - 3:15 pm
Free & Open to the Public


Crossing Borders Music Facebook and YouTube livestream